Large Number Witnessed Silver Jubilee Celebrations of Toranagallu Church

The silver jubilee celebration of the Holy Spirit church in Toranagallu, Steel Town was held with fervour and joy on July 30.

The concelebrated Eucharistic celebration on Sunday, was presided by Bishop Henry D’ Souza, Bishop of Bellary along with a large number priests, religious and the faithful marking the climax of the colourful celebration.

In his homily, Bishop D’Souza complimented the parishioners for their vibrant faith community. He urged them to make the parish ever more believing, worshiping, serving and evangelising community, marching ahead in a synodal style, with all sections of the people.

He insisted on great inter-religious efforts and ecumenical approach in all the parish pastoral activities.

Bishop also urged to give great importance to faith formation of children and involvement of parish youth.

The bishop in his homily gratefully acknowledged great services of the pioneer priests, and the active lay leadership in the growth of the believing community.

Parish Priest, Fr. Francis Chinnappa, along with members of the Parish Pastoral Council welcomed the well attended participants.

Holy Spirit Church was built in 1998 by the initiative of late Fr. Sahayanathan the then Parish Priest and Pioneer of the Mission. Prior to the construction of the church, Holy Eucharist was celebrated at the Government Primary School verandha at Thorangal.

Toranagalu parish was bifurcated from Sandur parish in 1995. The new church was blessed and consecrated on the 10 May, 1998 by Bishop Joseph D’Silva, Bishop of Bellary. Being the year of the Holy Spirit, the Church was dedicated to the Holy Spirit.

At the end of the Eucharistic celebration, the parish representatives felicitated the dignitaries. Mr. Sunil Ralph, Sr. Vice President JSW, Mr. Murugan, President JSW Steel Company Vijayanagar, Mr. Sushil Naval, Sr. Vice President Logistics, Mr. Manjunath Prabhu, Executive Vice President (RMHS & Agglomeration), JSW Steel Ltd, Mr. Asish Panda, Vice President (Safety & FS), JSW Steel Ltd and many other who were present at the occasion.

A short video on the history of the parish was prepared and screened by Mr. Sunil Ralph, Sr. Vice President , Administration JSW, Toranagallu.

As the number of faithful grew in numbers, there was a need for a larger church. The present large church was built during the then parish priest Fr. Francis Bashyam, It was blessed by Bishop Henry D’Souza, Bishop of Bellary on 27 April, 2014 on the day of Canonization of Saint Pope John Paul II.

The former parish priests who served in the parish were Fr. Sahayanathan, the pioneer (1995-99), Fr. Antonyraj P. (1999-2000), Fr. Thomas Palakkad VT (2000-2002), Fr. Ajit Pai (2002-09), Fr. Francis Bashyam (2009-14), Fr. Anand Prasad (2014-19), Fr. Maira Augustine, Fr. Martin Kumar, Fr. Charles D’Souza, (2019-20), Fr. Francis Chinnappa the present PP (2020-).

The children of the parish presented a short cultural programmes.

The solemn event ended with festive meal.

Our Patron
St Anthony of Padua